Camino de Santiago

Pilgrimage - Walking Tour

The Camino Portugues has two main routes: the Coastal Route and the Interior Route. The Coastal Route, also known as the Camino de la Costa, runs along the Atlantic coast from Porto in northern Portugal to Santiago de Compostela, covering a distance of approximately 280 kilometers. This pilgrimage offers breathtaking views of the coastline, beautiful beaches, charming fishing villages, and historic towns. However, it is also considered more challenging due to its hilly terrain and longer distances between towns.

The Interior Route, also known as the Camino Central, starts in Porto or Lisbon and heads north through the interior of Portugal before joining the Coastal Route in Galicia, Spain. This pilgrimage passes through historical towns, ancient forests, and vineyards, providing an opportunity for pilgrims to experience the rich cultural heritage of Portugal.

Both pilgrimage routes have their own unique attractions and challenges, but they share a common goal of spiritual and personal growth through the physical journey. Along the way, pilgrims can enjoy the camaraderie of fellow travellers, experience the hospitality of local communities, and find a deeper connection with nature and spirituality.

Regardless of which hiking route one chooses, the Portuguese Camino de Santiago offers an unforgettable experience that combines physical, cultural, and spiritual elements. It is a journey that challenges and enriches the soul, leaving pilgrims with memories and insights that will last a lifetime.

The Portuguese
Interior Route

individual pilgrimage

Porto - Arcos - Barcelos - Balugaes - Ponte de Lima - Rubiaes - Tui - Porriño - Redondela - Pontevedra - Calda de Reis - Padrón - Santiago de Compostela

-- learn more --

The Portugese Camino
Coastal Route

individual pilgrimage

Porto – Vila do Conde – Apúlia – Anha – Caminha -
Oia – A Ramallosa - Vigo – Redondela – Pontevedra -
Calda de Reis – Padrón – Santiago de Compostela

-- learn more --