Camino de Santiago

Pilgrimage - Walking Tour

The Camino de Santiago, also known as the Way of St. James, is a famous pilgrimage route in Spain that attracts hikers and pilgrims from all over the world. The route is named after St. James, one of the twelve apostles of Jesus Christ, whose remains are said to be buried in the Cathedral of Santiago de Compostela, which is the final destination of the pilgrimage.

The Camino de Santiago is traditionally a religious pilgrimage, but it has become popular among hikers and outdoor enthusiasts as well. The route is a network of paths through Spain, Portugal and France, and there are several different routes that pilgrims can take to reach Santiago de Compostela.

The most popular route is the Camino Francés, which starts in the French town of Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port and ends in Santiago de Compostela, covering a distance of about 780 kilometers. Other routes include the Camino del Norte, which follows the northern coast of Spain and the Camino Primitivo, the oldest route which is considered the spanish original.

Hiking the Camino can be a challenging and rewarding experience, with hikers traversing varied terrain from mountains to plains and national parks, and passing through small villages and historic cities along the way. For pilgrims, the journey is also a spiritual one, with many seeking a deeper connection to their faith or simply looking for a sense of purpose and reflection.

Regardless of the reason for embarking on the Camino de Santiago, all who walk it are considered pilgrims and are welcomed by the local communities along the route. The pilgrimage has a rich history dating back to the Middle Ages and has become a cultural and spiritual icon in Spain and beyond.

Camino Frances
The Classical Route

Individual pilgrimage

Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port – Pamplona – Logroño –
Santo Domingo de la Calzada – Burgos – Léon – Astorga –
Ponferrada – Arzúa – Santiago de Compostela

-- learn more --

Camino del Norte
Spanish Coastal Route

individual pilgrimage

Camino (upon request)
Irun – San Sebastián – Gernika – Bilbao – Castro Urdiales –
Santander – Santillana del Mar – Llanes – Villaviciosa –
Gijón – La Caridad – Ribadeo – Arzúa – Santiago

-- learn more --


individual pilgrimage

Camino (upon request)
Oviedo – Grado – Salas – Tineo – Borres – Berducedo –
Grandas de Salime – A Fonsagrada – O Cádavo – Lugo –
Ferreira – Melide – Arzúa – Santiago de Compostela

-- learn more --

Sarria -

group pilgrimage

Sarria - Portomarín -
Palas del Rei - Arzúa - Amenal -
Santiago de Compostela

-- learn more --